Tuesday, August 5, 2008
avatar: the last airbender


I have just finished watching Avatar: The Last Airbender.

I first saw this show at Nickelodeon (cable TV), i fell in love with the show, unfortunately I cannot catch every episode at Nick cause the time slot is conflicted with my class schedule. And they haven't finished showing Book 3 yet. So I finished watching book 1 - the water tribe, book 2 - the earth kingdom and book 3 - the fire nation at the following sites in the internet:

(this site is incomplete)

(series completed)

Avatar: The Last Airbender consists 3 books. The first book starts when Katara and Sokka, from the Southern Water Tribe discovered a boy frozen inside an iceberg, whom is known to be Aang: the Avatar. Together, the ventured in finding what Aang missed from the last 100 years of frozen solid. The three of them ventured out, found more friends and together, they helped Aang learn the 4 bending styles: Air bending, Water bending, rock bending and Fire bending before the day of the comet arrives and stop Fire Lord Ozai conquering the world.


Complete synopsis:

A century prior to the series' opening, Aang, a 12-year-old Airbender of the Air Nomad's Southern Air Temple, learned from his monk instructors that he was the Avatar. Usually, the Avatar is told of his true identity only after turning sixteen; however, the head monks feared that a war between the four nations was on the horizon, and that the Avatar would soon be needed to help maintain balance. Shortly thereafter, it was decided that Aang would be separated from his guardian, Monk Gyatso, and sent to the Eastern Air Temple to finish his training.

Confused, frightened, and overwhelmed by all that was happening and the incredible burden of responsibility placed upon him, Aang fled from his home on his Flying Bison Appa. While over the frigid southern ocean, a sudden storm caused Appa to plunge deep into the sea. Unknowingly entering the Avatar State, Aang used Airbending and Waterbending to put himself and Appa into an air bubble. The air bubble quickly froze into a sphere of ice, putting them both into a state of suspended animation.

When the series opens one hundred years later, the Fire Nation is on the brink of victory in its imperialist war. The Water Tribes are in crisis — the Southern Water Tribe's warriors have gone off to war, leaving their home defenseless, and the Northern Water Tribe, though largely intact, is continually on the defensive. The vast Earth Kingdom is now the only true barrier to the Fire Nation's domination, but as the Fire Nation continues to encroach on its borders and conquer its territories, hopes for victory grow bleaker with each passing year.

In the present day, two teenage siblings from the Southern Water Tribe — Katara, a Waterbender, and her brother Sokka — discover and free Aang from his iceberg. Aang soon finds out that in his absence, the war that the monks feared had started. The very year he vanished, the ruthless Fire Lord Sozin took advantage of both the Avatar's absence and the Firebending-enhancing powers of a powerful burning comet to launch a war on the three other nations. To Aang's shock and disbelief, the Fire Nation's opening gambit had been a genocidal assault on the Air Nomads. The Air Temples were stormed and the Airbenders slaughtered in an effort to break the Avatar Cycle, leaving him as the last known Airbender in existence.

As the Avatar, it is Aang's duty to restore harmony and peace to the four nations. Along with his newly discovered friends Katara and Sokka, his Flying Bison Appa and his Winged Lemur Momo, and later the blind Earthbender Toph, Aang travels the world to master all four elements, while evading capture by Fire Nation's banished Prince Zuko and later the ruthless Princess Azula.

Although it takes years of discipline and training to master any one element, Aang must master them all and defeat Fire Lord Ozai by summer's end, when the return of Sozin's Comet will grant the Firebenders the power to finish the war. If these events come to pass, not even the Avatar will be able to restore balance to the world.

These are the episode titles: (taken from justdubs.net

Book 1


Episode 1... The Boy in the Iceberg
Episode 2... The Avatar Returns
Episode 3... The Southern Air Temple
Episode 4... The Warriors of Kyoshi
Episode 5... The King of Omashu
Episode 6... Imprisoned
Episode 7... The Spirit World (Winter Solstice, Part 1)
Episode 8... Avatar Roku (Winter Solstice, Part 2)
Episode 9... The Waterbending Scroll
Episode 10... Jet
Episode 11... The Great Divide
Episode 12... The Storm
Episode 13... The Blue Spirit
Episode 14... The Fortuneteller
Episode 15... Bato of the Water Tribe
Episode 16... The Deserter
Episode 17... The Northern Air Temple
Episode 18... The Waterbending Master
Episode 19... The Siege of the North (Part 1)
Episode 20... The Siege of the North (Part 2)

Book 2


Episode 21... The Avatar State
Episode 22... The Cave of Two Lovers
Episode 23... Return to Omashu
Episode 24... The Swamp
Episode 25... Avatar Day
Episode 26... The Blind Bandit
Episode 27... Zuko Alone
Episode 28... The Chase
Episode 29... Bitter Work
Episode 30... The Library
Episode 31... The Desert
Episode 32... The Serpent's Pass
Episode 33... The Drill
Episode 34... City of Walls and Secrets
Episode 35... The Tales of Ba Sing Se
Episode 36... Appa's Lost Days
Episode 37... Lake Laogai
Episode 38... The Earth King
Episode 39... The Guru
Episode 40... The Crossroads of Destiny

Book 3


Episode 41... The Awakening
Episode 42... The Headband
Episode 43... The Painted Lady
Episode 44... Sokka's Master
Episode 45... The Beach
Episode 46... The Avatar and the Firelord
Episode 47... The Runaway
Episode 48... The Puppetmaster
Episode 49... Nightmares and Daydreams
Episode 50... Day of the Black Sun Part 1: The Invasion
Episode 51... Day of the Black Sun Part 2: The Eclipse
Episode 52... The Western Air Temple
Episode 53... The Firebending Masters
Episode 54... The Boiling Rock (1)
Episode 55... The Boiling Rock (2)
Episode 56... The Southern Raiders
Episode 57... The Ember Island Players
Episode 58... Sozin's Comet Part 1: The Phoenix King
Episode 59... Sozin's Comet Part 2: The Old Masters
Episode 60... Sozin's Comet Part 3: Into the Inferno
Episode 61... Sozin's Comet Part 4: Avatar Aang

kikai thought hard on 2:43 PM.